top of page
  • Writer's pictureSandra Wilmann

Researching Hilda and Luke Pearson

Updated: Jun 29, 2020


Hilda is a series by Luke Pearson, about a young girl who lives with her mother in a magical world. This show is heavily inspired by folktales, and even adds new storied to the mix.


The style of this show has defininitely inspired me on how I want to create backgrounds, and has pushed me to draw with

a rugged line.


Especially the trees in this style has put its impact on me, and now I find my trees to look somewhat similar to these.

The colourways are also something I can see similarity in.






These are some works that I can see the similarity and inspiration in clearly. I think the two on the far right look the most similar, but my style has changed a little while doing this project as well. I think it is more intigrated now than it was before. While it is still there, it might be more subtle.


Looking at Luke Pearsons work definitely inspires me to create something as well. I love to see great character design, and especially great backgrounds, together with good writing. It is rare to get a show like this. (yes i recommend it)


It is a show that dares to approach an unconventional way of doing childrens shows. Hilda is not afraid of being odd or weird, and the show it self isnt afraid of skipping out on the humour or slapstick to give the viewers a calm story to watch. It really shows us that kids don't need all of these gags to enjoy a show, and as a former child, I can definitely relate to this. I remember thinking, just because I'm a kid doesn't mean I'm dumb, or don't understand. I have very poor memory of my childhood, but what I do remember is my thoughts, instead of happenings. I had a lot of thoughts, and maybe loudest of them all, were "do adults even know that we think?".

I would love to create content for children similar to Hilda, that tells kids it is alright to be different, it is definitely encouraged to be curious, and you are who you are. What's important is just learning to deal with whoever that is.


Hilda is a show that takes its time telling the story. It doesnt feel rushed, and it feels content being what it is. The messages of the stories are coming through on top. It also has a world with dense and intriguing history, and never holds back on showing this. I want the same for Philbert, that you can feel the passage of time has been throught this place, and that there is history in every rock on the sidewalk.

The show doesnt need to rely on words, but rather mundanely shows us how the world is. It shows us the history, it shows us the magic, and it doesn't need any more explaination.


















Hilda has inspired me since I first saw it. It tells a story through its animation more often that through words, and I aim to create something that can be as inspiring as it.

Recent Posts

See All

Displaying work

I am currently experimenting with ways to display my work. Its a bit hard ! I am considering trying out an animated live wall Jonathan recommended me, but its for wordpress. I will try it out soon ! J

bottom of page