top of page
  • Writer's pictureSandra Wilmann

Philbert 9

Updated: Dec 5, 2019

Now this, is a really big piece. I worked on it for way too many hours, but the endresult I think is really cute. It features Philbert clapping and enjoying this big frog's song. I imagine this underdeveloped, but overdeveloped frog is singing about something very upsetting frogsong, and all the frogs are sad, but Philbert, not understanding the song, just claps and smiles along with the tune.


I looked up a few images of frogs, dragonflies and tadpoles for this piece, but didnt directly use any images as a reference. Kind of more to remind myself "oh yeah, thats what they look like."



I have done a lot of pieces featuring frogs in the past, and have been wanting to incorporate that into the Philbert story, but to be honest I just started drawing this blob which ended up being a big underdeveloped but overdeveloped frog playing banjo. It's such a weird concept, but I stuck with it. Then I had to make the frog a bit smaller because I wanted to add Philbert and more to the scenery, so I placed him upper left corner, and filled in the gaps. I sketched out the characters and basic background, then just line arted it pretty quickly. I didnt realise I wanted the pond to be so clear until I started colouring, and had to kind of step back and do those lines and colours then. I think adding depth to the water really made a big difference.


Piece finished: 14th of October 2019

bottom of page