top of page
  • Writer's pictureSandra Wilmann

Philbert 29

Updated: Jun 29, 2020


I've been wanting to create a piece for Philbert showing him in distress, or struggling. I sketched this up pretty quickly as I knew I wanted to finally make a drawing showing the lighthouse! I have drawn sketches of this house before, but now its official! My thoughts on this is that Philberts mother lived and worked in this lighthouse. Since I did not do this on stream, it was easier to save during progression, and you can see the gif and images of its creation below. I am very happy with how this image turned out.



The progress in this image seems pretty straight forward. As soon as I dres the basis landcape, I knew I wanted those colours in the sky, and that is why i made the colour so early on. It sets the whole mood for the rest of the drawing. I had to look up my own references while I drew the house, and made very slight differences.

The biggest is of course that I flipped the house. I tried some different colours for the house, but actually ended back on orange in the end.


The sky was both the first and the last thing I coloured. I knew I wanted cleaner lines; more cell shading and less textured look. So essentially, I painted over the excisting background so it would still be similar. I also added some square light, of course. That's the new standard, right?

I really like how the water looked with the square light-details as well.


I really like how Philberts emotions come through only his pose. We cannot see his face, but we don't need to. I wanted this image to have a heavy feeling to it, with the viewer unsure of why there is such a heavy mood. What happened to our poor Philbert, and what is he trying to figure out? These are questions I hope this piece triggers.



It reminds me of this piece, but with less context. In this piece, we can tell he is missing someone, because of the context the picture gives. But on the new image, we are given no context. I also chose not to include any of Philberts friends or side characters. I felt this piece was stronger with Philbert having to deal with it by himself. He has no comfort from Fox, Peregrine or Pepper.



I do want to go back and change older pieces to have the boxy lights, imagine how different this other piece would look with boxy lights for example ! Hopefully that wouldnt take too long.


On a different note, I've made a lot of drawings for my own twitch, so thats basically freelance work for myself, right? As my own customer, I'm allowing showing these on this blog ;)


They are essentially used like emotes, but with my face on them. It's a lot of fun to get involved in communities like these.


Recent Posts

See All

Displaying work

I am currently experimenting with ways to display my work. Its a bit hard ! I am considering trying out an animated live wall Jonathan recommended me, but its for wordpress. I will try it out soon ! J

bottom of page