top of page
  • Writer's pictureSandra Wilmann

Philbert 28

Updated: Jun 29, 2020


I wanted to draw a Philbert piece with some landscape, featuring Aurora Borealis. I did this on stream actually, but on two different days. I started at 9.40.00 on this stream https://www.twitch.tv/videos/549993145 and finished it on around 00.41.00 on this stream https://www.twitch.tv/videos/550425772. The first stream is easy to watch with no cuts if you just wanna scroll through the drawing being drawn, I also talk a lot about what I am doing, to explain a little to the viewers. The second stream, I am finishing the drawing off while I am waiting for games, so I do play, but draw while we wait for a game!

I dont know if you find these interesting, but you can see the entire drawing being made !


Since the opportunity to at least scroll through the process on twitch is there, I wont go too into details about the process. I wanted to draw the Aurora Borealis because of the Finnish myth I mentioned earlier, where the fox couldnt become a star sign, so he was granted being the northern lights instead. I want to incorporate that folk tale in the Philbert Universe. I like the look the northern lights got at the end, even though you can watch me struggle getting the right look. I also changed Fox's pose quite a few times, but I like the end result. He looks interested but cautionus. I am still enjoying using the boxy lighting, and my viewers seemed to like them too ! I feel they are a bit... controversial?? Haha maybe not.. but I know they wont fall in everyones taste. If it was a dress or something, they would have "raw edges", if you know what I mean. But I like the raw edges.


Talking about inspiration on this piece is kind of tricky. The biggest inspiration is obviously the folk tale about northern lights. I went into this knowing I wanted the landscape to have a mountain and northern lights, and everything else kind of molded after that.


I know this text isnt as long and reflective as it should, but I am truly having problems putting words into this drawing. I hope you watch the stream and gather more from there. I will also edit this post if I realise I can write more, because even I am disappointed with this text. Oh well.

bottom of page