top of page
  • Writer's pictureSandra Wilmann

Philbert 25

Updated: Jun 29, 2020


Heyy a new piece! Philbert and Peregrine out camping under the moonlight, roasting some marshmellows and telling stories about their adventures.

The most noticeable difference in this piece, is of course the lighting. I was inspired by an artist I have followed for a while, Kat Tsai (known as chuwenjie). She has earlier worked on Steven Universe, which is how I found her, but more recently worked on a new netflix series, Kipo and the Wonderbeasts. I saw the series before realising she was involved, and later put two and two together when I saw her posts online.

Below, the image that inspired me to try out these blocky lights. I played around with the idea a little, and ended up with an even more digital, blocky look than Tsai did. I really enjoy how the blocky lights work in her favour, and I want to try this out more! I experimented with square and horizontal and vertical rectangles.











































So, lets talk some about progress. I sketched this out fairly quickly, starting with the landscape and adding the characters to suit it. I changed Fox and Peregrines pose a little, but most stayed true to its original sketch. I also gave Philbert a sleeping bag and removed his witches hat to suit it better.


You can see the usual gif below, showing how I created this piece. I started with nature, then characters, then details. I think the new blocky light really enhanced this image, and made it something truly unique. I love how it ended up!



This style is definitely working for Philbert, and it wouldn't be too hard to apply this technique to older pieces either. I am very happy with how the sparks from the fire swirls up, and and that the line of light kkind of guides this image.


I am not really sure who else to mention as an inspiration for this image than Kat Tsui. I tried to find an image to get a key inspiration from, so you can easily pinpoint the inspiration for once, rather than having tens of thousands of inspirations from pinterest and instagram. I do love the blocky lights, so I am happy I tried it for myself.

bottom of page