top of page
  • Writer's pictureSandra Wilmann

Philbert 17

Updated: Jun 29, 2020


I went back and decided to finish a sketch I showed in an earlier "Philbert Sketches" post. It is featuring a giant monster looking at Philbert and grinning maliciously. I didn't change a lot from the original sketch, I moved Fox's tail and twisted him to be looking at Philbert, and made the giant monster a bit more evil looking. And added Philberts sword, laying in the grass. I was also a bit unsure when I did the sketch if the grid was a good idea or not, but when I tested it out on the final piece, I really loved how the grid pulled it together. It makes the whole image a bit more sci-fi, if you will. I actually ended up liking this image a lot more than I thought I would.

Below you can see my process, with the initial line sketch and rough colour sketch. I just made the lines straight above that without adding anything, and the things I changed or added were done so impulsively without sketching. I figured it might be interesting to see what the lines looked like compared to the original sketch, which is why the third image is very messy. It points out the few changed I made. I think seeing it before and after the "effects" is very interesting as well. As you probably know, I love solid colours, so I often like it with no effects, but with this magical storyline, the gimmer and glam just adds that poof of magic.


bottom of page