top of page
  • Writer's pictureSandra Wilmann

Philbert 01

Updated: Dec 5, 2019

I started a new small project quite randomly. It started with my friend and I both deciding to create a "magical girl" inspired autumn drawing. If you are unfamiliar with the "magical girl" trope, it mostly began with American and Japanese TV shows like Bewitched (1964-1972) and Sally the Witch (1966-1967), and became popular very quickly. A famous example is Sailor Moon (1992-1997). The trope is pretty well summed up in young girls with magical powers. However, I created a boy named Philbert. In the story I made, he was the first boy witch in his universe. I wanted the story to be kind of silly, but kind of serious at the same time, but I have not gone in depth yet.

I have done just a bit of world creating, the most noticable is how the witch hats display their powers. I thought this would be a fun idea, because you would have these novice witches with very very small hats, and the powerful elders with hats bigger than themselves.

Philbert would be around 10 years old, I imagine, and he has a red fox as his closest friend.



This is the first drawing I did of philbert, drawn on 21 08 2019




bottom of page